Finally! Oh you daring girl!

Hello everyone!

The title of this post has got the word daring in it, this is mainly because I’ve been playing with the idea of having my own blog for a long time and  after reading other blogs in the queer feminist spectrum and reading what this people (mainly women*) told about being confronted with not only trolls but violence like for example in form of threats I didn’t really feel like going trough the same, but today I felt daring and I finally did it and now I have my own blog.

I’m  queer and after becoming a feminist (yes, for me was kind of a coming out because of the societal implications) I noticed that I was not read as one or even considered one (whatever the idea that some people have about how a feminist has to look or looks like) because of my new and rekindle love for make up, but not only that, the fact that I dressed in a feminine way was also criticized.

My feminine looks implied for some people that I’m reinforcing certain clichés and serving the so called male gaze or what is considered the picture of how a girl/woman* looks like. This kind of thinking is for me not only oppressing but it also shows the amount of hostility towards the feminine not only in our society ( Duh! nothing new you might say) but also in certain queer / left winger / feminist circles in Germany. I only mentioned this country because is the country I live in, actually I could be even more accurate and reduce my observations to Berlin.

This is way I decided to write about make up, photography and last but not least important Feminism. I’m not an expert in feminist theory or political theory but I learn everyday and I would like to share my journey with you, my journey against femininity hostility, from the perspective of a neo feminist, make up addict.

So folks welcome to this journey,

La femmeinista

About femmeinista

FU Berlin student (Romance phil./ Pol. Sci.) Interested in social media, gender issues,make up, politics, photo & geeky stuff.Blogging under @femme_inista

4 comments

  1. Hello 🙂 I’m looking forward to your posts.

    Like

  2. Mette Gabler

    So important to focus on women solidarity and freedom for a change.

    Like

Leave a Reply

The Conscience Fund

A personal beauty, travel and lifestyle blog

Captain Awkward

Advice. Staircase Wit. Faux Pas. Movies.

SAKW

The Peruvian kittens & German puppies techie society

work / play / polish

life through manicures

work / play / polish

life through manicures

fuckermothers

feministische Perspektiven auf Mutterschaft

glücklich scheitern

Mamablog mit Feminismus und Fernweh

Word up!

Schnapsideendestillerie

Shadow's Crescent

Two kickass, programming, intersectional trans* feminists

laufmoos

fuck yeah unbequem

makeupsociety

Style, Sense, and Swag.

cupcakesakura

Kawaii, Dolly Style, Affordable, Gyaru, Friendship.

riotmango

EAT ALL THE PATRIARCHY

High on Clichés

Die Guten, die Schlechten, die Ahnungslosen